Motivation…

It’s a challenge getting motivated this time of year because the weather fluctuates wildly and getting back into running shape is not easy. Here in Chicago it has been 80 degrees one day and snowing the next. I know, in a couple of months I’ll be whining about the heat and humidity 🙂 In the back of my mind I know I should just suck it up and get out there but the weather can become a convenient excuse.

This year I’m having a bit more of a challenge getting into running shape because of the long time off. One day I may feel terrible and out of shape during a five mile run but then feel great during a seven mile run. I wish I knew why that is. I know all runners go through this period at the beginning of the running season so I’m not too concerned about it. My objective is to keep pushing and work on conditioning, eventually I will get over the hump.

Today I went out for a nine mile run and I must say that I felt better than I expected. The goal was to run a nice and easy 9:15 pace but I actually ran a 9:05. I was happy with the run because the effort I put forward was minimal, it was truly a relaxing run. I’m curious to see how tomorrow’s run will be. Will I feel terrible? Will I feel great? I have no idea at this point in the season.

There are a lot of runners out there beginning to train for a 10K, half marathon or marathon. Hopefully they don’t feel alone when they experience the beginning of the season challenges because it happens to all of us. The key is to find a way to self motivate and get out there on a regular basis and fight to get over the hump. It will begin to get a lot easier in early June when the weather is beautiful. Hard work and perseverance always pays off.

This week I will be trying new minimalist shoes and will share what I learn in future posts. Stay tuned.

Happy running!

This entry was posted in General, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment